CSCM Celebrates Manitoba’s Olympic and Paralympic Athletes!

Published On: May 30, 2018

Spring has seen celebrations across the nation.

Parliament Hill hosted the Team Canada Celebration earlier this month and most recently, Manitoba-connected Team Canada athletes who competed in PyeongChang were celebrated at Government House in Winnipeg.

The Honourable Gary A. Filmon, P.C., O.C., O.M and The Honourable Janice C. Filmon, C.M., O.M. with PyeongChang Olympians and Paralympians (L-R), Heather McLean, Billy Bridges, Jamie Anseeuw, Kaitlyn Lawes, Quinton Howden, Dennis Thiessen

Last week, CSCM supporters, stakeholders, and Olympic and Paralympic alumni joined The Honourable Janice C. Filmon, C.M., O.M., Lieutenant Governor of Manitoba, to celebrate Manitoba’s Olympic and Paralympic athletes from the 2018 PyeongChang Games.

[bs_collapse id=”collapse_838b-22d5″]
[bs_citem title=”Event Photos” id=”citem_9057-3243″ parent=”collapse_838b-22d5″]

PyeongChang Olympic Medallist Quinton Howeden and partner

The Honourable Gary A. Filmon, P.C., O.C., O.M compares Olympic medals with two-time Olympic Medallist Kaitlyn Lawes and 2002 Olympic Medallist Sami Jo Small

The Honourable Janice C. Filmon, C.M., O.M. with three-time Paralympic Medallist Billy Bridges and his PyeongChang silver medal

Two-time Paralympic Medallist Dennis Thiessen and two-time Olympic Medallist Kaitlyn Lawes

Past, present and future Olympians and Paralympians, along with CSCM supporters and staff (L-R) | Stephen Barber (CSCM Board of Directors), Olympian Doreen Botterill, Dr. Cal Botterill, Olympian Sandra Kirby, Marlene Borsch, Tom Pundyk, Gregg Hanson, Paralympian Jamie Anseeuw, Dr. Adrienne Leslie-Toogood (CSCM Director of Sport Psychology), Skylar Park, Jorie Janzen (CSCM Director of Sport Dietetics)


Manitoba athletes who competed in the 2018 PyeongChang Olympic and Paralympic Games received a card and a gift from the CSCM family to recognize their effort and achievement. The jewellery piece was created by Manitoba’s own Hilary Druxman. Congratulations!

CSCM is extremely grateful for our generous donors and never tire of showing our appreciation, like through the celebration event at Government House.

Your help allows us to provide services and support to Manitoba’s current and future Team Canada athletes.

From strength & conditioning to sport psychology sessions, to financial assistance and more, you’re a part of it all!

Thank you.

[bs_row class=”row”]
[bs_col class=”col-sm-6″]



For information on becoming a donor, please visit[/bs_col]
[bs_col class=”col-sm-6″]

CSCM supporters and members of the board, Hub Berube and Nicole Latourelle


CSCM is excited to connect more with our National Team alumni.
This past year, CSCM has started initiatives to re-engage with our alumni, including invitations to events and the AGM, to reaching out for advice and with updates on what’s happening at the Centre.
CSCM believes that National Team alumni are an invaluable resource!
Not just to us at the Centre, but to our current athlete population. Who better to mentor current and future National Team athletes than someone who has been there?

[bs_row class=”row”]
[bs_col class=”col-sm-6″]

Manitoba Olympic alumni Sami Jo Small, Cindy Klassen and Jeff Powell (CSCM General Manager)

[bs_col class=”col-sm-6″]

If you are an alumnus who is interested in connecting with the Centre and/or current athletes we’d love to hear from you. Please contact Scott Sywy at or 204.474.7382.[/bs_col]

The Honourable Gary A. Filmon, P.C., O.C., O.M and The Honourable Janice C. Filmon, C.M., O.M. with Winnipeg Police Aide-de-Camp Inspector Doug Roxburgh (Winnipeg Police Service), Sami Jo Small, Billy Bridges, Dr. Cal Botterill, Susan Auch, Jérémie Chase, Kyle Turcotte, Skylar Park, Kaitlyn Lawes, Stephanie Lambert, Doreen Botterill, Adam Decker, Donna Harris, Dr. Adrienne Leslie-Toogood, Cindy Klassen, Jeff Powell, Cole Vincent, Jorie Janzen, Aide-de-Camp Superintendent Jeanette Theisen (RCMP)

[bs_collapse id=”collapse_3ba3-8b1b”]
[bs_citem title=”Additional Olympians, Paralympians and PyeongChang Support Staff in attendance” id=”citem_b272-326d” parent=”collapse_3ba3-8b1b”]
Dwayne Gylywoychuk – assistant coach, women’s hockey, PyeongChang Olympics
Gabor Csepregi – Olympian, 1972 & 1976 water polo
Janine Stephens – Olympic medallist, 2008 & 2012 rowing
Jeff Stoughton – head coach, mixed doubles curling, PyeongChang Olympics
Peter Robertson-Stovel – Olympian, 1988 & 1992 bobsleigh
Rhiannon Leier Blacher – Olympian, 2000 & 2004 swimming